Projects
Dredge BRUNSWICK moves Georgetown from award to active channel work
USCG now names Southern Dredging's Dredge BRUNSWICK on 24/7 work in Georgetown Harbor's Bypass and Steel Mill channels through about 31 August. The USD 3.587 million package has moved beyond award, but removed quantity, option exercise, completion survey and accepted depth remain open.
USCG puts BRUNSWICK in both awarded reaches
USCG's Southeast District week 31 notice names Southern Dredging's Dredge BRUNSWICK in the Bypass and Steel Mill channels, lists 24/7 work and an approximate 31 August end to the navigation-notice window. Georgetown County's current FAQ says dredging began in July. SAM.gov identifies the USD 3.587 million award and contract number; USACE describes the scope, method and environmental route. The current records confirm named plant and active work, not measured quantity, option exercise, completion hydrography, accepted depth or final account.
A named dredge closes the mobilisation gap
An 18-year maintenance gap turned a recurring operations task into an access-recovery programme. SAM.gov fixes Southern Dredging's contract and value; USCG now fixes the named cutterhead plant and active work window, while Georgetown County says dredging began in July. Waterfront users including International Paper and Liberty Steel still need measured production, accepted depth, navigation release and reliable vessel calls before the access recovery is real.
Evidence conclusion
Active work is not accepted channel recovery
The 390,000-cubic-yard base and 170,000-cubic-yard option are components of an approximately 560,000-cubic-yard maximum, not three additive quantities. Dredge BRUNSWICK is the named active plant, but the current notice does not disclose volume removed, exercise of the option, survey results or completion. The selected action uses the Sampit upland placement area and no ocean disposal. Harbor recovery still requires compliant placement, accepted hydrography, navigation release and demonstrated industrial access.
Outstanding evidence
- Dredge BRUNSWICK work location, production continuity and any change to the 31 August notice window
- Measured base quantity, option authorization, and final project-wide dredged volume
- Upland placement-area performance, water-quality certification, and protected-species controls
- Progress and completion surveys, accepted depth, and residual shoal condition
- Navigation release, industrial vessel access, maintenance funding, and demonstrated service continuity
Subject index
Related subjects
These subject pages bring together related projects, technical articles, reports, and evidence methods.
Sources used 10
- Local Notice to Mariners, Southeast District, week 31 of 2026 U.S. Coast Guard Navigation Center, Generated 5 August 2026; current work window through approximately 31 August 2026
- Georgetown Harbor dredging project frequently asked questions Georgetown County Government, Current page reviewed 10 August 2026
- FY26 Georgetown Harbor O&M navigation dredging award notice SAM.gov / U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, 1 June 2026
- USACE, Georgetown County and City of Georgetown to host public meeting on harbor dredging U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, 24 June 2026
- Georgetown Harbor operations and maintenance environmental documents U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, Publication date not stated; evidence reviewed 21 July 2026
- Charleston District FY2026 and beyond contract projections U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, May 2026
- Georgetown Harbor Supplemental Environmental Assessment U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, February 2026
- Georgetown Harbor Finding of No Significant Impact U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, February 2026
- Charleston District channel-condition reports U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, Current monitoring route reviewed 16 July 2026
- Appendix A - Georgetown Harbor Navigation Conditions U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Charleston District, February 2026; includes 25 June 2025 hydrographic survey