Project record

Quriyat fishing port sea dock development

Aerial view of Quriyat fishing port, its breakwaters, harbour basin and developing fixed dock

Oman News Agency; exact Quriyat fishing port progress view

A Ministry progress statement put the Quriyat fishing port sea-dock project at approximately 83% completion on 10 August 2025, with a construction cost of OMR 2.979 million. The scope includes a 185 m fixed berth on the breakwater, a 33,000 m2 investment area and a reserved site for a marine crane. Oman eTender separately records tender 172/2021/MAFWR/HQ-17 for dredging works at Quriyat Fishery Harbour: the original procedure was cancelled and Recall-1 was marked awarded, but the public workbook names no supplier or value. The contractor, relationship between that dredging package and the later dock works, subsequent completion, berth load testing, hydrographic condition and operational acceptance remain undisclosed.

Project signal

Construction in Oman

Current status 83% complete in August 2025; completion, contractor and acceptance remain unverified Source confidence Confirmed

Location

Oman / Middle East

Segment

Port infrastructure

Status

83% complete in August 2025; completion, contractor and acceptance remain unverified / Confirmed

Last checked

12 August 2026

Coverage

Related sectors

Port infrastructure is the primary work classification. Related sectors connect this record to adjacent marine delivery and market coverage.

Subject index

Related subjects

These subject pages bring together related projects, technical articles, reports, and evidence methods.

Project anatomy

Contract scope and delivery roles

Client / authority
Oman Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Water Resources
Delivery parties
Main contractor - not named in the reviewed owner progress release, Marine crane, berth furniture and specialist suppliers - not publicly identified
Contract route
Government fishing-port development package with a reported construction cost of OMR 2.979 million; tender and contractor details remain unverified. Oman eTender also records 172/2021/MAFWR/HQ-17 for Quriyat harbour dredging: the original procedure was cancelled and Recall-1 was marked awarded, with no supplier, value or execution record in the reviewed public workbook.
Execution window
Reported at approximately 83% on 10 August 2025. No later owner completion or acceptance record was located by 1 August 2026.
Works package
Add a 185 m fixed dock on the existing breakwater for ships and boats, create 33,000 m2 of investment land and provide a designated site for installation of a marine crane supporting vessel and boat maintenance.
Marine interfaces
The new berth must connect structurally to the breakwater and operate with adequate depth, berth furniture, utilities, crane access and safe manoeuvring. A civil progress percentage does not establish berth load capacity, usable depth, crane commissioning or vessel release.
Commercial evidence boundary
The project is small but package-relevant: sea-dock contractor identity, the 2021 dredging awardee and package relationship, fenders and bollards, crane procurement, electrical and water services, final hydrography and handover are all unresolved. These are the items needed to convert the procurement and 83% progress records into an operating marine asset account.

Contract and delivery chain

Named roles and open packages

Named appointments are shown against the workstream they cover. Unallocated packages remain open until a project source identifies the responsible party.

Harbour dredging procurement

172/2021/MAFWR/HQ-17 - Recall - 1

Named party
Awardee not disclosed in the reviewed public workbook
Status
Confirmed
Source position
Oman eTender records the Recall-1 procedure for dredging works at Quriyat Fishery Harbour as Tender Awarded after the original procedure was cancelled. Supplier, value, execution and acceptance are not reported. Source
Sea-dock construction

OMR 2.979 million Quriyat sea-dock development

Named party
Main contractor not disclosed
Status
Confirmed
Source position
The Ministry reported 83% progress on the 185 m fixed dock, investment land and crane-site scope on 10 August 2025 without naming the contractor. Source
Package relationship

2021 dredging tender versus later sea-dock works

Named party
No controlled linkage published
Status
Not evidenced
Source position
The reviewed sources do not establish that the dredging tender formed part of the OMR 2.979 million dock contract or identify a common prime contractor.

Evidence gap

What remains unverified

Outstanding evidence

  • Main contractor and construction contract
  • Dredging tender 172/2021/MAFWR/HQ-17 awardee, value, scope and relationship to the sea-dock package
  • Remaining works after the August 2025 83% checkpoint
  • Berth structural completion and load testing
  • Fenders, bollards, ladders, power and water services
  • Marine crane procurement and commissioning
  • Final hydrography and navigation release
  • Owner handover and first sustained use

Reporting status

Construction, confirmed confidence

Last checked 12 August 2026 across 5 cited sources. The dated timeline above carries the project events.

Last checked 12 August 2026 Cited sources 5

Sources and related records

Read featured analysis Methodology Submit a correction Project tracker

Project sources 5