Project record

Los Angeles Berths 49-51 Outer Harbor Cruise Terminal Development

Port of Los Angeles board presentation maps showing the Berths 49-51 Outer Harbor location, wharf improvements, substation installation and utility work areas

Port of Los Angeles; exact Specification 2815 Outer Harbor location slide showing planned wharf improvements and substation installation areas

The City of Los Angeles Harbor Department awarded Specification 2815 to Shimmick Construction Company, Inc. after receiving three bids on 20 November 2025. The approved USD 61,290,400 contract, plus a 10% contingency for a USD 67,419,440 authorization, covers a 34.5 kV industrial station and switchgear, an 18 MVA transformer, 11 kV Alternative Maritime Power equipment and two wharf outlets, concrete wharf repairs, hybrid fender backing panels on steel and timber piles, fenders, bollards, utilities and access improvements. The board attachment names five subcontractors and one steel-pile supplier at bid stage. Executed lower-tier agreements and the physical construction start remain unconfirmed.

Project signal

Award in United States

Current status Los Angeles Harbor Commission Resolution 26-10665 approved Shimmick's USD 61,290,400 bid on 6 January 2026, and RAMP records the award on 26 January; the owner's award presentation estimated a March 2026 notice to proceed and January 2029 completion, while the actual NTP, site mobilisation and installed work remain unconfirmed through 8 August 2026 Source confidence Confirmed

Location

United States / North America

Segment

Cruise berth rehabilitation, shore power and marine piling

Status

Los Angeles Harbor Commission Resolution 26-10665 approved Shimmick's USD 61,290,400 bid on 6 January 2026, and RAMP records the award on 26 January; the owner's award presentation estimated a March 2026 notice to proceed and January 2029 completion, while the actual NTP, site mobilisation and installed work remain unconfirmed through 8 August 2026 / Confirmed

Last checked

8 August 2026

Coverage

Related sectors

Cruise berth rehabilitation, shore power and marine piling is the primary work classification. Related sectors connect this record to adjacent marine delivery and market coverage.

Subject index

Related subjects

These subject pages bring together related projects, technical articles, reports, and evidence methods.

Project anatomy

Contract scope and delivery roles

Client / authority
City of Los Angeles Harbor Department, Port of Los Angeles
Delivery parties
Shimmick Construction Company, Inc. - prime contractor, USD 61,290,400 bid, Axia Electric LLC - listed electrical subcontractor, USD 8,292,107; wholly owned Shimmick subsidiary, Alcorn Fence Company - listed fencing subcontractor, USD 1,150,003, CMC Steel Fabricators, Inc. - listed rebar subcontractor, USD 459,082, Manson Construction Co. - listed subcontractor, USD 2,934,000; work type not stated in the board table, NMN Construction - listed subcontractor, USD 550,000; work type not stated in the board table, Hermosa Infrastructure Materials - listed steel-pile supplier, USD 7,081,937
Contract route
The Harbor Department advertised Specification 2815 on 9 September 2025, held a pre-bid meeting on 23 September and received three bids on 20 November. Shimmick bid USD 61,290,400, below Drill Tech Drilling & Shoring at USD 71,922,060 and Griffith-Aldridge JV at USD 78,799,028. The Board approved the lowest responsive and responsible bid under Resolution 26-10665 on 6 January 2026; RAMP records opportunity 225023, contract 2332 and the award on 26 January.
Execution window
The approved work duration is 1,020 calendar days. The January 2026 board presentation estimated NTP in March 2026 and completion in January 2029, while the earlier FY 2025/26 budget had forecast January 2026 to March 2028. The award programme supersedes the older planning dates for current tracking; actual NTP, site possession, first marine operation and any revised accepted programme remain unconfirmed.
Works package
Work includes a new LADWP 34.5 kV industrial station, 34.5 kV switchgear, an 18 MVA transformer with automatic load tap changing, new 11 kV AMP switchgear, two 11 kV wharf AMP outlets and a mobile cable-management system. Marine and civil scope includes Berths 49-50 wharf structural support and concrete repair, 9,144 linear feet of furnished 36-inch steel pipe piles, 72 installed steel pipe piles, 3,860 linear feet of 24-inch prestressed concrete piles, 40 installed concrete piles, ten marine fenders, eight mooring bollards, timber piles, utilities, paving, site removals and pedestrian, vehicle, safety and security improvements.
Marine interfaces
The project must integrate high-voltage shore power with an operating cruise berth, ageing wharf concrete, a new hybrid fender backing panel, steel and timber piling, bollards, water and sewer connections and live passenger and vehicle circulation. Critical controls include vessel-call windows, electrical isolation and commissioning, wharf structural access, pile-driving tolerances, concrete repair boundaries, fender and mooring geometry, utility tie-ins, marine safety zones and CARB shore-power compliance.
Commercial evidence boundary
The board approved a USD 61,290,400 contract and a 10% contingency, producing a USD 67,419,440 authorization. The bid list assigns USD 13,385,192 to five subcontractors and separately lists Hermosa's USD 7,081,937 steel-pile supply within Shimmick's USD 47,905,208 prime amount including supplier. Named external party values therefore total USD 20,467,129, while USD 40,823,271 remains as the arithmetic balance not assigned to an external lower-tier entity in the table. That balance is not proof of actual self-performed cost. Alcorn plus Hermosa account for the reported 13.43% SBE participation; Hermosa alone accounts for 11.55% VSBE participation. No cited record proves executed lower-tier agreements, paid quantities, variations or final account.

Contract and delivery chain

Named roles and open packages

Named appointments are shown against the workstream they cover. Unallocated packages remain open until a project source identifies the responsible party.

Prime construction award

Specification 2815, Contract 2332

Named party
Shimmick Construction Company, Inc.
Status
Confirmed
Source position
Resolution 26-10665 approved Shimmick's USD 61,290,400 bid and USD 67,419,440 authorization including contingency for a 1,020-day contract. Source
Electrical and AMP

34.5 kV station, 18 MVA transformer, switchgear, two outlets and cable management

Named party
Shimmick with Axia Electric LLC listed for USD 8,292,107
Status
Confirmed
Source position
The board report defines the AMP equipment; Transmittal 4 lists Axia as the electrical subcontractor, and Shimmick identifies Axia as its wholly owned subsidiary. Source
Marine piling and steel supply

Steel pipe piles, concrete piles and hybrid fender backing support

Named party
Shimmick; Hermosa Infrastructure Materials listed as USD 7,081,937 steel-pile supplier
Status
Confirmed
Source position
The bid analysis publishes steel and concrete pile quantities; Transmittal 4 names Hermosa as the steel-pile supplier but does not prove purchase-order execution or delivery. Source
Marine subcontracting

Unstated bid-list work type

Named party
Manson Construction Co., USD 2,934,000
Status
Undisclosed
Source position
The official contractor list names Manson and its amount but leaves the type-of-work cell blank; a marine role must not be inferred from company capability alone. Source
Fencing

Site fencing

Named party
Alcorn Fence Company, USD 1,150,003
Status
Confirmed
Source position
Transmittal 4 identifies Alcorn's fencing scope and SBE contribution. Source
Rebar

Reinforcing steel

Named party
CMC Steel Fabricators, Inc., USD 459,082
Status
Confirmed
Source position
Transmittal 4 identifies CMC's rebar scope and amount. Source
Additional subcontracting

Unstated bid-list work type

Named party
NMN Construction, USD 550,000
Status
Undisclosed
Source position
The official contractor list names NMN and its amount but leaves the type-of-work cell blank. Source
Mobilisation and delivery

NTP, physical start, AMP commissioning and acceptance

Named party
Port of Los Angeles and Shimmick
Status
Not evidenced
Source position
The board presentation estimated March 2026 NTP and January 2029 completion; actual NTP, installed work, energisation and acceptance remain unconfirmed.

Project timeline

Material developments

Dated events that changed scope, counterparties, delivery, commissioning or operating status.

Open this project in the Change Log

RAMP records the construction award

RAMP converts Opportunity 225023 into award record A-96945 under Contract 2332, confirming the USD 61.290 million award value and named prime contractor.

Source

Harbor Commission approves Shimmick award

Resolution 26-10665 establishes Shimmick as prime contractor, separates the contract and contingency values, and authorizes a 1,020-calendar-day delivery period.

Source

Shimmick reports preferred-bidder position

Shimmick identifies the USD 61.3 million preferred-bidder position and describes the electrical, structural and civil work scope before formal board approval.

Source

Port receives three bids

The bid opening ranks Shimmick lowest at USD 61.290 million against competing bids of USD 71.922 million and USD 78.799 million.

Source

Evidence gap

What remains unverified

Outstanding evidence

  • Executed Contract 2332 and actual notice-to-proceed date
  • Site possession, mobilisation and first verified marine operation
  • Accepted baseline and any movement from January 2029 completion
  • AMP substation, transformer, switchgear and cable-management procurement
  • Steel, concrete and timber pile installation quantities and tolerances
  • Wharf-repair limits, fender geometry and mooring-bollard interfaces
  • Axia Electric affiliate workshare and commissioning boundary
  • Executed status and detailed scopes for all listed lower-tier parties
  • Cruise-call, pedestrian, vehicle and utility outage interfaces
  • Testing, energisation, CARB compliance, acceptance, variations and final account

Reporting status

Award, confirmed confidence

Last checked 8 August 2026 across 10 cited sources. The dated timeline above carries the project events.

Last checked 8 August 2026 Cited sources 10

Sources and related records

Read featured analysis Methodology Submit a correction Project tracker

Project sources 10