Project record

Dublin Port Marine Works Framework and Berth 29

Murphy's tubular-pile quay wall construction at Dublin Port Berth 29

Murphy; Berth 29 combi-pile quay wall construction

Dublin Port Company appointed Murphy International Limited to a single-party framework for quay walls and marine and civil engineering works, with Berth 29 as the initial contract. The framework was concluded on 31 January 2023 and its formal award notice, published in May 2026, records a maximum value of EUR 200 million. Murphy says it delivered 21 call-off contracts during 2025, but public records currently disclose only selected package names, scopes and dates.

Project signal

Construction in Ireland

Current status Single-party framework active with Murphy International; Berth 29 was handed over in 2024, Murphy reports 21 call-offs delivered during 2025, and owner confirmation of the contractor-stated July 2026 completion target for Berths 30/31 and McCairns Yard has not been identified Source confidence Confirmed

Location

Ireland / Europe

Segment

Port infrastructure

Status

Single-party framework active with Murphy International; Berth 29 was handed over in 2024, Murphy reports 21 call-offs delivered during 2025, and owner confirmation of the contractor-stated July 2026 completion target for Berths 30/31 and McCairns Yard has not been identified / Confirmed

Last checked

2 August 2026

Coverage

Related sectors

Port infrastructure is the primary work classification. Related sectors connect this record to adjacent marine delivery and market coverage.

Subject index

Related subjects

These subject pages bring together related projects, technical articles, reports, and evidence methods.

Project anatomy

Contract scope and delivery roles

Client / authority
Dublin Port Company, framework contracting authority, port owner and project employer
Delivery parties
Murphy International Limited - single-party framework contractor and Berth 29 main contractor, Berth 29 specialist subcontractors and suppliers - not publicly disclosed, Berths 30/31 and McCairns Yard delivery parties below Murphy - not publicly disclosed
Contract route
Dublin Port Company established a single-party framework through a negotiated competitive procedure following a 2022 qualification system. The contract was concluded with Murphy International Limited on 31 January 2023; the formal contract-award notice was published on 28 May 2026. Berth 29 was the initial contract, while future adjacent Masterplan works may be negotiated as call-offs with the framework contractor.
Execution window
Murphy's 2023 annual report describes a January 2023 framework start and a four-to-six-year call-off period. Its Berth 29 project page gives January 2023 to January 2024 for the initial works, and later reporting confirms handover and commissioning in 2024. Murphy's 2025 annual-report release says 21 call-off contracts were delivered during 2025. Its current project page identifies Berths 30/31 and McCairns Yard as subsequent packages with an expected July 2026 completion, but no owner-issued completion record was identified by 2 August 2026.
Works package
The framework can cover quay and anchor walls, crane rails, tie rods, mechanical and electrical services, utilities, concrete pavement, marine furniture, demolition, port buildings, yard resurfacing, roads, conveyors, linkspans, ramps, contractor design and other marine works. Berth 29 comprised a 120-metre combi-pile quay wall, an anchor wall about 30 metres behind the quay, 115-millimetre tie rods, crane-rail and bollard foundations, hardstanding, demolition and material reuse. Murphy's current page says the berth was deepened from a -9 to -13 chart-datum basis; it does not establish that Murphy performed a separate dredging package.
Marine interfaces
Berth 29 combined tubular and sheet piling in the tidal zone with a CFA-pile anchor wall, tie rods, crane-rail foundations, storm-bollard bases, existing-quay demolition and live-port coordination. Murphy reports more than 12,000 cubic metres of excavation and reuse of crushed mass concrete and caissons as 6F2. Public Murphy publications differ on tubular-pile length, giving 33 metres on the project page and approximately 31 metres in the 2023 annual report; the record preserves that source difference instead of inventing one controlling dimension.
Commercial evidence boundary
The TED and eTenders result records a EUR 200 million maximum framework value. It is not a published Berth 29 contract value, not the value of each later call-off and not proof that the ceiling has been spent. Murphy's statement that it delivered 21 call-offs in 2025 does not publish a complete package schedule, individual accepted prices or the subcontract chain. The EUR 2.5 million Great South Wall emergency repair is a separate current Dublin Port contract delivered by Murphy; the public completion release does not state that it was one of the framework call-offs.

Project timeline

Material developments

Dated events that changed scope, counterparties, delivery, commissioning or operating status.

Open this project in the Change Log

Late award notice exposed the framework ceiling and contractor

The formal result identified Murphy International, the 31 January 2023 contract date, Berth 29 as the initial contract and a EUR 200 million maximum framework value.

Source

Murphy completed a separate Great South Wall emergency package

Dublin Port confirmed completion of EUR 2.5 million remedial works by Murphy, demonstrating current coastal-delivery capability without publicly linking that package to the single-party framework.

Source

Murphy reported 21 framework call-offs delivered during 2025

The contractor disclosed delivery volume across the framework but did not publish all package identities, values, subcontractors or acceptance records.

Source

Berth 29 reached handover and commissioning

Murphy's project and annual reporting record completion of the initial quay-wall package, while later Berth 30/31 and McCairns Yard call-offs remained in delivery.

Source

Dublin Port concluded the single-party framework

The contract created a four-to-six-year route for Berth 29 and negotiated follow-on marine and civil packages with Murphy International.

Source

Evidence gap

What remains unverified

Outstanding evidence

  • Owner acceptance for the Berths 30/31 and McCairns Yard packages
  • Named package list behind Murphy's 21 call-offs delivered in 2025
  • Call-off dates, accepted values and completion certificates
  • Downstream piling, steel, tie-rod, marine-plant and specialist subcontractors
  • Berth 29 operating depth and post-handover performance
  • Future quay-wall, linkspan, yard, utility and marine-furniture instructions
  • Clear separation from MP2 Berths 52/53 and the ABR2 planning proposal

Reporting status

Construction, confirmed confidence

Last checked 2 August 2026 across 8 cited sources. The dated timeline above carries the project events.

Last checked 2 August 2026 Cited sources 8

Sources and related records

Read featured analysis Methodology Submit a correction Project tracker

Project sources 8