Project record

New Zealand regional-port dredging barge

Crane Barge 3 with its deck crane underway near Rotterdam; generic crane-barge equipment context, not the proposed New Zealand dredging barge

Alf van Beem / Wikimedia Commons, CC0 1.0

New Zealand has committed NZD 8 million towards a purpose-built crane dredger hopper barge for smaller regional ports. Johnson Bros will fund the rest of the NZD 12.9 million cost. The barge is intended for short-notice work around the country and is due to enter service in late 2027.

Project signal

Planning in New Zealand

Current status NZD 8 million of government co-funding confirmed; designer, shipyard, build contract and first port assignment not disclosed Source confidence Confirmed

Location

New Zealand / Asia Pacific

Segment

Dredging

Status

NZD 8 million of government co-funding confirmed; designer, shipyard, build contract and first port assignment not disclosed / Confirmed

Last checked

23 July 2026

Coverage

Related sectors

Dredging is the primary work classification. Related sectors connect this record to adjacent marine delivery and market coverage.

Subject index

Related subjects

These subject pages bring together related projects, technical articles, reports, and evidence methods.

Project anatomy

Contract scope and delivery roles

Client / authority
Johnson Bros Limited / New Zealand Government co-funding arrangement
Delivery parties
No designer, shipyard or construction contractor publicly named
Contract route
The New Zealand Government is contributing NZD 8 million through the Coastal Shipping Resilience Fund and Johnson Bros will meet the balance of the NZD 12.9 million cost. Public statements refer to procurement and to a capability built in Northland, but no tender route, executed vessel contract or shipyard award has been disclosed.
Execution window
The government expects the equipment to be operational in late 2027. A design-completion date, construction start, launch, trials and acceptance schedule have not been published.
Works package
Plan, design, build and commission a tug-towed crane dredger hopper barge for low-cost, small-to-medium-scale work at regional ports. Johnson Bros has reported a planned length of 38 m, a bottom-dumping hopper, a shore-discharge option and a production target of about 390 m3 per hour; a technical data sheet has not been released.
Marine interfaces
The vessel will need to match shallow regional-port access, tug availability, grab and crane duties, hopper loading and disposal routes, shore discharge, survey control and port-specific environmental approvals. Nationwide availability does not remove the need for a separate work scope and approval route at each port.
Commercial evidence boundary
The funded plan establishes a future small-port dredging asset and a late-2027 operating target. No design, equipment or shipbuilding package is open. Suppliers should wait for a named designer, yard, contract or issued package before treating the announcement as a bid opportunity.

Project timeline

Material developments

Dated events that changed scope, counterparties, delivery, commissioning or operating status.

Open this project in the Change Log

Government placed the barge within its six coastal-shipping investments

The fund summary describes a Northland-built dredging capability for smaller regional ports. It does not name a yard, contract or construction milestone.

Source

Government confirmed NZD 8 million for the regional-port barge

The announcement fixed the public contribution, NZD 12.9 million total cost, Johnson Bros co-funding and late-2027 operating target, without disclosing a designer or build contract.

Source

Evidence gap

What remains unverified

Outstanding evidence

  • Named designer, shipyard and executed vessel contract
  • Principal dimensions, grab and crane specification and hopper capacity
  • Construction start, hull milestone, launch and trials
  • Class, Maritime New Zealand and port-specific approvals
  • Ownership, operator, crewing and nationwide dispatch arrangements
  • First port assignment, work scope and procurement route
  • Survey quantities, placement route, maintained depth and owner acceptance
  • Any change to the late-2027 operating target or funding structure

Reporting status

Planning, confirmed confidence

Last checked 23 July 2026 across 7 cited sources. The dated timeline above carries the project events.

Last checked 23 July 2026 Cited sources 7

Sources and related records

Read featured analysis Methodology Submit a correction Project tracker

Project sources 7